Article de connaissances

Qu’est-ce que l’edge computing ?

Qu’est-ce que l’edge computing ?

L’edge computing redéfinit la manière dont les entreprises traitent et mettent à disposition les données. Alors que 91 % des données actuelles sont traitées dans des datacenters cloud ou sur site, Gartner prévoit que d’ici 2025, l’edge computing traitera 75 % de l’ensemble des données créées.

Ce changement est principalement dû à l’explosion des appareils et applications IoT qui nécessitent une puissance de traitement en temps réel à des niveaux que les solutions de datacenter traditionnelles ne peuvent pas fournir. Mais en dehors de cela, l’edge permet également aux organisations de dépasser les limites des réseaux cloud traditionnels pour automatiser les processus métiers centraux, maximiser l’efficacité opérationnelle et améliorer les performances.

Dans cet article, nous allons nous intéresser à la définition de l’edge computing. Nous verrons également comment fonctionne l’edge computing, ses avantages, les cas d’utilisation courants et les défis associés.

Qu’est-ce que l’edge ?

Le nombre d’appareils connectés à Internet a augmenté, tout comme le volume de données produites. Le transfert de toutes ces données edge vers un emplacement central peut prendre beaucoup de temps et coûter cher. 

Le téléchargement de grandes quantités de données analytiques peut provoquer un encombrement sur les réseaux locaux, épuisant les ressources en bande passante nécessaires à d’autres tâches professionnelles quotidiennes, comme les vidéoconférences, devenues essentielles dans les environnements de travail à distance. La latence, c’est-à-dire le temps nécessaire pour transférer des données de leur source à leur destination, est également un problème pour les applications qui reposent sur des données en temps réel. Le déploiement de l’edge permet de conserver le stockage et les serveurs là où se trouvent les données.

L’edge computing est une architecture informatique distribuée qui rapproche géographiquement les applications, les données et les ressources de calcul de l’endroit où les données sont collectées et analysées. Les données sont traitées aux extrémités du réseau, aussi près que possible de la source originale. Au lieu d’envoyer toutes les données vers un datacenter centralisé situé à des centaines de kilomètres, la périphérie n’envoie que les données optimisées.

L’edge trouve ses origines dans les réseaux de diffusion de contenu (RDC) des années 90, mais elle progresse aujourd’hui en raison des grands volumes de données générés par les appareils IoT et de l’augmentation du développement d’applications en temps réel, qui nécessitent des temps de transfert et des coûts de bande passante réduits. 

Fonctionnement de l’edge

La technologie cloud a permis aux entreprises de bénéficier de plusieurs avantages, notamment d’une plus grande évolutivité, d’une meilleure agilité et d’une réduction des coûts. Toutefois, la latence, la bande passante et la sécurité posent encore problème. L’edge computing décentralise le traitement depuis un datacenter principal en collectant et en traitant les données des appareils et des applications sur site.

Une passerelle edge connecte la périphérie à un cloud ou à un datacenter d’entreprise, assure la traduction entre différents protocoles de réseau et gère le flux de données pour garantir l’envoi de données optimisées uniquement.

L’infrastructure de périphérie peut inclure des serveurs, un stockage et des passerelles de périphérie, des appareils IoT, des capteurs, des postes de travail, des ordinateurs portables, des appareils intelligents et du matériel pour assurer la collecte et le traitement des données en temps réel.

Stockage de périphérie

Elle peut également inclure des datacenters secondaires plus petits, situés dans des villes ou des zones rurales proches, ou des conteneurs cloud pouvant être déplacés d’un environnement et d’un système cloud à l’autre. Si nécessaire, l’infrastructure est déployée dans des boîtiers destinés à la protéger contre les températures extrêmes et d’autres conditions environnementales.

Les types d’informatique de périphérie

Voici trois types spécifiques d’edge computing : 

Périphérie de capteurs

Les capteurs de périphérie servent de déclencheurs pour la collecte de données ou la surveillance et l’envoi d’événements. Ces capteurs sont optimisés pour un usage spécifique, avec une fonctionnalité de base intégrée. Ils ont généralement peu ou pas de capacité de traitement et ne peuvent communiquer qu’avec le réseau de périphérie, le cloud ou le datacenter. Les horloges, les caméras de surveillance, les contrôleurs industriels et les bases de données de séries chronologiques en sont des exemples. 

Périphérie d’appareils

Les appareils de périphérie se trouvent en bout de réseau et leur puissance, leurs capacités de calcul et leurs fonctionnalités de stockage sont généralement limitées. Ils dépendent d’une passerelle pour collecter et traiter les données et se trouvent généralement à proximité des ressources informatiques afin de réduire la latence, les besoins en bande passante et les problèmes de communication. La périphérie d’appareils est souvent utilisée dans des endroits éloignés où un datacenter n’est pas envisageable (dans les éoliennes, sur les plateformes pétrolières et dans les lieux soumis à des conditions météorologiques extrêmes, par exemple). 

Périphérie mobile

Les services mobiles sont distribués sur des réseaux positionnés à proximité du client pour un fonctionnement optimal. L’informatique de périphérie mobile (MEC), ou informatique de périphérie multi-accès, est un réseau hautement distribué qui se situe à l’extrémité du réseau et qui permet d’intégrer des ressources de calcul, de stockage et de mise en réseau dans les stations de base afin de déployer des applications et des services plus près des utilisateurs mobiles.

Les fournisseurs de services peuvent ainsi déplacer les charges de travail du cloud vers les serveurs locaux pour offrir une meilleure expérience aux utilisateurs et réduire la latence et la congestion du réseau.

Les avantages de l’informatique de périphérie

L’informatique de périphérie offre divers avantages aux entreprises qui dépendent d’applications soumises à des contraintes de temps ou qui doivent déplacer de grandes quantités de données. Voici les principaux : 

Une meilleure résilience : une plateforme de périphérie permet d’assurer des services plus rapides, cohérents et fiables. La puissance de calcul étant locale, les sites en périphérie peuvent continuer à fonctionner de manière indépendante si le datacenter central tombe en panne.

Une latence réduite : la mise à disposition des données en temps réel est essentielle pour des technologies telles que les appareils médicaux IoT et les véhicules autonomes, où le moindre retard peut coûter des vies. La surcharge du réseau et les pannes peuvent ralentir la transmission des données, réduisant ainsi la capacité d’un système à réagir en temps réel, ce qui retarde l’analytique et la prise de décision. Grâce à l’informatique de périphérie, les données critiques peuvent être traitées plus près de l’appareil, pour une réponse plus rapide. 

Une utilisation réduite de la bande passante : les réseaux disposent d’une bande passante limitée, qui détermine le volume de données pouvant être transféré et le nombre d’appareils pouvant communiquer sur le réseau. L’augmentation de la bande passante pour accueillir davantage d’appareils et de données entraîne des coûts nettement plus élevés. Au lieu de diffuser des données en continu et de consommer de grandes quantités de bande passante, l’edge computing traite et transmet uniquement les données les plus importantes au datacenter.

Une sécurité et une souveraineté accrues : lors du transfert de données au-delà des frontières internationales et régionales, la sécurité, la protection de la vie privée et d’autres considérations légales doivent être prises en compte. Le traitement des données à la périphérie permet de mettre en œuvre des mesures visant à sécuriser et à masquer les données avant de les envoyer vers le cloud ou le datacenter, qui peuvent être régis par différentes lois sur la sécurité des données.

Des coûts réduits : le coût de mise en œuvre des solutions de périphérie est souvent inférieur à celui des datacenter centralisés, que ce soit dans le cloud ou sur site. L’informatique de périphérie permet également de réduire les coûts de connectivité en déplaçant de plus petites quantités de données entre la périphérie et les datacenters.

Cas d’utilisation de l’informatique de périphérie

L’edge computing est de plus en plus utilisé dans plusieurs secteurs, notamment les télécommunications, la fabrication, les transports et les services publics. Voici les principaux cas d’utilisation :

Fabrication : grâce à la surveillance conditionnelle, les fabricants peuvent effectuer des travaux de maintenance en fonction de l’état réel des machines, tandis que la maintenance prédictive permet de détecter les défaillances de manière proactive et d’effectuer l’entretien avant une panne éventuelle.

La surveillance et le contrôle précis permettent aux fabricants d’utiliser des données provenant de plusieurs systèmes, processus et machines afin de surveiller les erreurs de production et de fournir des informations stratégiques en temps réel pour améliorer les processus de fabrication et la qualité.

Agriculture : les agriculteurs s’appuient sur la technologie edge pour suivre l’utilisation de l’eau, distribuer les bonnes quantités d’engrais, étudier la qualité du sol et surveiller l’évolution des cultures dans les champs isolés. Ils peuvent également collecter et analyser les données provenant d’un large éventail d’appareils connectés, notamment des capteurs et des tracteurs, afin d’observer les effets sur l’environnement et d’améliorer les pratiques agricoles.

Santé : le secteur de la santé collecte d’énormes quantités de données sur les patients à partir des moniteurs, capteurs et autres dispositifs médicaux. L’informatique de périphérie IoT permet de recueillir et d’analyser les données critiques des patients, ainsi que d’appliquer l’automatisation et l’apprentissage automatique pour identifier les anomalies. Les professionnels de santé ont ainsi accès à des analyses en temps réel, ce qui leur permet de prendre des mesures immédiates pour le diagnostic et le traitement.

Transports : les véhicules autonomes doivent analyser les données en temps réel pour fonctionner de manière sûre et efficace, l’envoi des données à un datacenter distant n’est donc pas envisageable. Les véhicules doivent agréger et traiter d’énormes quantités de données provenant de sources multiples pour prendre des décisions en temps réel concernant la navigation et communiquer avec d’autres véhicules, tout en étant en mouvement.

La technologie de périphérie embarquée permet aux véhicules autonomes d’analyser en temps réel la localisation, la vitesse et d’autres données relatives au véhicule afin de déterminer les meilleurs itinéraires et d’éviter les embouteillages.

Réalité augmentée (RA) : les applications de réalité augmentée pour le commerce, l’éducation et le divertissement impliquent des opérations de rendu intenses qui nécessitent des réponses en temps réel et une faible latence pour fonctionner efficacement. Les expériences de RA fournies via des services informatiques centralisés peuvent entraîner des coûts élevés de bande passante et être soumises à une forte latence, ce qui nuit à l’expérience utilisateur.

L’informatique de périphérie 5G, qui combine l’informatique de périphérie et la connectivité 5G, peut offrir une connectivité plus rapide et plus fiable pour les applications de RA. Elle peut également répartir le traitement de la charge de travail entre l’appareil de RA et le réseau de périphérie afin d’assurer une expérience utilisateur optimale. 

Avec Pure, relevez les défis de l’informatique de périphérie

La mise en œuvre d’une solution de périphérie peut présenter plusieurs défis. Les solutions de périphérie étant conçues pour répondre à un objectif spécifique, elles utilisent des ressources et des capacités limitées. 

Pour que votre solution de périphérie soit efficace, son périmètre et ses objectifs doivent être clairement définis. Vous devez également déterminer le niveau minimal de connectivité nécessaire, définir les cycles de vie des données et mettre en œuvre un plan de sécurité global.

Pour vous aider à relever les défis relatifs à l’informatique de périphérie, Pure Storage® vous propose plusieurs solutions, notamment :

En raison de leur haute densité, de leur faible consommation d’énergie et de leur gestion facile à distance, FlashBlade et FlashArray conviennent parfaitement aux déploiements en périphérie.

Portworx® : fournit une couche de stockage pour l’exécution de charges de travail cloud native en périphérie. La plateforme offre une solution complète pour les charges de travail conteneurisées, avec sauvegarde et reprise après sinistre. Portworx s’intègre à FlashBlade et FlashArray pour une performance et une fiabilité élevées.

800-379-7873 +44 2039741869 +43 720882474 +32 (0) 7 84 80 560 +33 1 83 76 42 54 +49 89 12089253 +353 1 485 4307 +39 02 9475 9422 +31 202457440 +46850541356 +45 2856 6610 +47 2195 4481 +351 210 006 108 +966112118066 +27 87551 7857 +34 51 889 8963 +41 43 505 28 17 +90 850 390 21 64 +971 4 5513176 +7 916 716 7308 +65 3158 0960 +603 2298 7123 +66 (0) 2624 0641 +84 43267 3630 +62 21235 84628 +852 3750 7835 +82 2 6001-3330 +886 2 8729 2111 +61 1800 983 289 +64 21 536 736 +55 11 2655-7370 +52 55 9171-1375 +56 2 2368-4581 +57 1 383-2387 +48 22 343 36 49
Votre navigateur n’est plus pris en charge !

Les anciens navigateurs présentent souvent des risques de sécurité. Pour profiter de la meilleure expérience possible sur notre site, passez à la dernière version de l’un des navigateurs suivants.

See Pure’s vision for the future—on demand. Watch now
Knowledge Article

What Is Edge Computing?

What Is Edge Computing?

Edge computing is redefining the way enterprises process and deliver data. While 91% of today’s data is processed in cloud or on-premises data centers, Gartner predicts that by 2025, edge solutions will process 75% of all data created.

This shift is mainly due to the explosion of IoT devices and applications that require real-time processing power at levels traditional data center solutions can’t provide. But outside of this, the edge also allows organizations to move beyond the limitations of traditional cloud networks to automate core business processes, maximize operational efficiency, and improve performance.

In this article, we’ll look at the edge computing definition. We’ll also explore how edge technology works, its benefits, common use cases, and challenges associated with it.

What Is the Edge?

As the number of devices connected to the internet has increased, so has the volume of data being produced. Moving this much data across from the edge to a central location can be time-consuming and costly. 

Uploading large amounts of analytical data can cause network congestion on local networks, depleting the bandwidth resources necessary for other day-to-day business tasks such as video conferencing, which has become essential in today’s remote work environments. Latency, the time it takes to transfer data from its source to its destination, is also a concern for applications that rely on real-time data. Deploying at the edge keeps storage and servers where the data is.

Edge computing is a distributed computing architecture that places applications, data, and compute resources geographically closer to where data is being collected and analyzed. Data is processed at the extremities of the network, as close to the original source as possible. Instead of sending all data to a centralized data center hundreds of miles away, the edge sends only the optimized data.

Edge technology finds its origins in the content delivery networks (CDNs) of the ’90s, but the technology is advancing today due to the large volumes of data being generated by IoT devices and an increase in real-time application development that requires reduced data transfer times and lower bandwidth costs. 

How the Edge Works

Cloud technology has brought enterprises several advantages, including increased scalability, agility, and reduced costs. However, there are still issues related to latency, bandwidth, and security. Edge computing decentralizes processing from a primary data center by collecting and processing data from devices and applications on-site.

An edge gateway connects the edge to a cloud or enterprise data center, provides translation between different network protocols, and manages the flow of data to ensure that only optimized data is sent to the data center.

Edge infrastructure can include edge servers, edge storage and gateways, IoT devices, sensors, desktops, laptops, smart devices, and machinery that collect and process data in real time.

Edge Storage

It can also include smaller secondary edge data centers in nearby cities or rural areas, or cloud containers that can be moved across cloud environments and systems. Where necessary, infrastructure is deployed in protected enclosures to shield against extreme temperature and other environmental conditions.

Types of Edge Computing

The following are three specific types of edge computing: 

Sensor Edge

Edge sensors act as triggers for collecting data or monitoring and sending events. Sensors are optimized for a specific purpose, with basic edge functionality built in. Edge sensors typically have little to no processing capability and can only communicate with the edge network, cloud, or data center. Examples include clocks, surveillance cameras, industrial controllers, and time-series databases. 

Device Edge

Edge devices live on the last mile of the network and usually have limited power, compute, and storage functionality. Devices depend on a gateway to collect and process data from the device and are usually in proximity to computing resources to help reduce latency, bandwidth usage, and communication issues. Device edge is often used in remote locations where a data center isn’t a feasible option (e.g., wind turbines, oil rigs, and places that experience extreme weather). 

Mobile Edge

Mobile services are distributed on networks positioned close to the customer for optimal service. Mobile edge computing (MEC), also known as multi-access edge computing, is a highly distributed network that sits on the outermost edge of the network and allows computing, storage, and networking resources to be integrated into base stations on the network so that applications and services can be deployed closer to mobile users.

With MEC, service providers can move workloads from the cloud to local servers to provide a better user experience and reduce latency and congestion on the network.

Benefits of Edge Computing

Edge computing provides several benefits to enterprises that rely on time-sensitive applications or need to move large amounts of data. Some of the major benefits of edge computing include: 

Greater resilience: An edge platform supports faster, more consistent, and more reliable services. Because computing power is local, sites on the edge can continue to operate independently if the central data center goes down.

Reduced latency: Real-time data delivery is critical for technologies like medical IoT devices and self-driving vehicles, where the slightest delay could cause loss of life. Network congestion and outages can delay data delivery, reducing the ability of a system to respond in real time, leading to delayed analytics and decision-making. With edge computing, critical data can be processed closer to the device for faster response items. 

Lower bandwidth usage: Networks have finite bandwidth limits that determine the amount of data and devices that can communicate across the network. Increasing network bandwidth to accommodate more devices and data comes at significantly higher costs. Instead of constantly streaming data and consuming large amounts of bandwidth, edge computing only processes and delivers the most important data to the data center.

Greater security and sovereignty: Data security, privacy, and other legal considerations must be considered when moving data across international and regional boundaries. Processing data at the edge creates an opportunity to implement measures to secure and obscure data before sending it to the cloud or data center, which may be governed by different data security laws.

Lower costs: Edge solutions can often be implemented at lower costs than centralized data centers, whether in the cloud or on-premises. Edge computing also reduces connectivity costs by moving smaller amounts of data between the edge and data centers.

Edge Computing Use Cases

Edge computing is seeing increased use in several industries, including telecommunications, manufacturing, transportation, and utilities. Top use cases include:

Manufacturing: Using condition-based monitoring, manufacturers can perform maintenance services based on the actual condition of the machinery, while predictive maintenance can proactively detect machine failure and perform maintenance before a potential breakdown.

Precision monitoring and control allow manufacturers to use data from multiple systems, processes, and machines to monitor for production errors and provide real-time insights to improve manufacturing processes and quality.

Agriculture: Farmers rely on edge technology to help track water use, dispense fertilizer in the right amounts, examine soil quality, and monitor the progress of crops in outlying fields. Farmers can also collect and analyze data from a wide range of connected devices, including sensors and tractors to observe environmental effects and improve crop-growing practices.

Healthcare: The healthcare industry collects a tremendous amount of patient data from health monitors, sensors, and other medical devices. IoT edge computing makes it possible to collect and analyze critical patient data, as well as to apply automation and machine learning to identify anomalies. This gives healthcare professionals access to real-time analytics so that they can take immediate action in diagnosing and treating health issues.

Transportation: Because autonomous vehicles need to analyze data in real time to operate safely and effectively, sending data to a remote data center isn’t an option. Vehicles need to aggregate and process enormous amounts of data from multiple sources to make real-time decisions about navigation and communicate with other vehicles, all while in motion.

Onboard edge technology allows autonomous vehicles to perform real-time analysis on location, speed, and other vehicle-related data to determine the best routes and avoid traffic congestion.

Augmented reality (AR): Augmented reality applications for retail, education, and entertainment involve intense rendering operations that require real-time responses and low latency to function effectively. AR experiences delivered using centralized computing services can incur high bandwidth costs and be subject to high latency, lessening the user experience.

5G edge computing, the combination of edge computing and 5G connectivity, can provide faster and more reliable connectivity for AR applications. Edge computing can also divide workload processing between the AR device and the edge network to support an optimal user experience. 

Pure Solves Your Edge Computing Challenges

Implementing an edge solution can present several challenges. Because edge solutions are designed to handle a specific purpose, they’ll use limited resources and have limited capability. 

The scope and purpose of your edge solution must be clearly defined for it to be effective. You also need to figure out the minimum level of connectivity needed, determine the data life cycles, and implement an overall security plan.

To help solve your edge computing challenges, Pure Storage® offers several solutions, including:

  • FlashBlade®: Is the world’s leading unified fast file and object (UFFO) platform. It’s ideally suited for analytics, machine learning, artificial intelligence, and similar edge data processes. 

  • FlashArray™: Combines the high performance of all-flash storage with VMware integration to create a hybrid-cloud solution. It supports a 5G multimode infrastructure that combines virtual machines and containers. 

The high-density, low power consumption and easy remote management of both FlashBlade and FlashArray make them ideal for deployments at edge locations.

Portworx®: Provides a storage layer for running cloud-native workloads at the edge. It delivers a complete solution for containerized workloads, including backup and disaster recovery. Portworx integrates with both FlashBlade and FlashArray for high performance and reliability.

800-379-7873 +44 20 3870 2633 +43 720882474 +32 (0) 7 84 80 560 +33 9 75 18 86 78 +49 89 12089 253 +353 1 485 4307 +39 02 9475 9422 +31 (0) 20 201 49 65 +46-101 38 93 22 +45 2856 6610 +47 2195 4481 +351 210 006 108 +966112118066 +27 87551 7857 +34 51 889 8963 +41 31 52 80 624 +90 850 390 21 64 +971 4 5513176 +7 916 716 7308 +65 3158 0960 +603 2298 7123 +66 (0) 2624 0641 +84 43267 3630 +62 21235 84628 +852 3750 7835 +82 2 6001-3330 +886 2 8729 2111 +61 1800 983 289 +64 21 536 736 +55 11 2655-7370 +52 55 9171-1375 +56 2 2368-4581 +57 1 383-2387
Your Browser Is No Longer Supported!

Older browsers often represent security risks. In order to deliver the best possible experience when using our site, please update to any of these latest browsers.