Qu’est-ce que la Storage Class Memory ?

Qu’est-ce que la Storage Class Memory ?

Qu’est-ce que la Storage Class Memory ?

Depuis longtemps, les administrateurs de stockage d’entreprise doivent trouver un équilibre entre la nécessité d’un accès plus rapide aux données et les contraintes budgétaires. Certains types de mémoire, comme la technologie double data rate (DDR) synchronous dynamic random-access memory (SDRAM), offrent un accès ultra rapide aux données. Mais la DDR SDRAM est également très coûteuse.

Une autre option de stockage gagne rapidement en popularité, car elle offre des performances supérieures à celles de la mémoire flash NAND, pour un coût inférieur à la DDR SDRAM. Il s’agit de la Storage Class Memory (SCM).

SCM : un compromis entre DDR et stockage flash d’entreprise moderne

Examinons les diverses options de stockage d’entreprise et leur rapport prix/performance. Les systèmes de stockage sur bande sont bon marché, mais lents, tandis que la DRAM est très rapide, mais excessivement chère. La mémoire SCM se situe à mi-chemin entre le stockage NAND traditionnel utilisé actuellement dans les disques flash d’entreprise et la DRAM, comme illustré dans le graphique ci-dessous. Sans surprise, la mémoire SCM allie à la fois des caractéristiques de la DRAM et du stockage flash NAND. Elle est adressable en octets, comme la DRAM, à des prix qui se rapprochent des solutions de stockage traditionnelles.

La Storage Class Memory est également désignée sous le terme de « mémoire persistante », car elle est non volatile. Cela signifie que les données ne seront pas perdues si le système de stockage tombe en panne ou que l’alimentation est coupée. C’est un avantage important par rapport à la DRAM, qui est volatile ou temporaire, et dont le contenu est perdu en cas de coupure de courant.

La mémoire SCM se comporte comme un autre pool de mémoire du serveur et on peut y accéder de la même manière qu’à la DRAM. L’accès aux données à partir de ce pool de mémoire SCM est nettement plus rapide qu’avec les interfaces PCIe ou SAS plus traditionnelles. En fait, la SCM peut lire et écrire des données jusqu’à 10 fois plus vite que les disques flash NAND, tout en étant environ deux fois moins chère que la DDR SDRAM.

Essayez FlashBlade

Essayez une instance de Pure1® en libre-service pour gérer Pure FlashBlade™, la solution native scale-out la plus avancée du secteur pour le stockage de fichiers et d’objets.

Demander un essai

Avantages de la mémoire SCM

Grâce à la technologie SCM, les entreprises peuvent bénéficier d’un nouveau niveau de stockage haute performance, avec un rapport performance/prix encore inédit. La Storage Class Memory est idéale pour les bases de données et les applications ultra rapides et stratégiques, qui nécessitent une grande durabilité, une latence faible et une forte cohérence des données.

Autres avantages :

  • Latence inférieure à celle du stockage flash NAND traditionnel
  • Traitement plus rapide des charges de travail nécessitant des opérations d’écriture intensives, comme les charges de travail OLTP (traitement transactionnel en ligne).
  • Coût inférieur au stockage DRAM
  • Utilisée en mode mémoire persistante, elle évite toute perte de données en cas de panne de courant ou de défaillance du système.

Utiliser la technologie à bon escient

Si le coût par gigaoctet de la mémoire SCL est nettement inférieur au système RAM, elle reste plus chère que les autres options de stockage flash. La mémoire SCM est idéale pour les environnements informatiques qui ont besoin d’accéder à des ensembles de données complexes pouvant être intégrés dans un pool de SCM. Elle est également intéressante dans les environnements plus sensibles aux pannes de courant, pour lesquels les dommages seraient plus importants ou coûteux en cas de perte des données en mémoire.

Exemples de cas d’utilisation :

  • Analyse des cybermenaces : les systèmes peuvent analyser plus rapidement les ensembles de données entrants pour identifier et corriger les anomalies.
  • Détection des fraudes : une analyse rapide et précise des données peut aider les institutions financières et les compagnies d’assurance à identifier les transactions frauduleuses.
  • Opérations boursières : les données stockées dans la mémoire SCM peuvent être traitées et les transactions exécutées en quelques fractions de seconde.

Découvrez comment Pure Storage tire parti de la mémoire SCM

Pure Storage® propose des solutions de stockage SCM qui peuvent aider votre organisation à gagner en efficacité sans alourdir votre budget. Le logiciel DirectMemory™ Cache est directement intégré au cœur du système d’exploitation de FlashArray™. Il permet à FlashArray d’exploiter la Storage Class Memory afin d’offrir des performances de lecture améliorées pour les bases de données, les analyses et les rapports. Il est spécialement conçu pour les charges de travail haute performance qui nécessitent des opérations de lecture intensives pour les ensembles de données de trois à six téraoctets. DirectMemory Cache fonctionne avec des modules DirectMemory, qui peuvent être installés dans FlashArray//X et FlashArray//XL pour des performances de lecture améliorée.

 

800-379-7873 +44 2039741869 +43 720882474 +32 (0) 7 84 80 560 +33 1 83 76 42 54 +49 89 12089253 +353 1 485 4307 +39 02 9475 9422 +31 202457440 +46850541356 +45 2856 6610 +47 2195 4481 +351 210 006 108 +966112118066 +27 87551 7857 +34 51 889 8963 +41 43 505 28 17 +90 850 390 21 64 +971 4 5513176 +7 916 716 7308 +65 3158 0960 +603 2298 7123 +66 (0) 2624 0641 +84 43267 3630 +62 21235 84628 +852 3750 7835 +82 2 6001-3330 +886 2 8729 2111 +61 1800 983 289 +64 21 536 736 +55 11 2655-7370 +52 55 9171-1375 +56 2 2368-4581 +57 1 383-2387 +48 22 343 36 49
Votre navigateur n’est plus pris en charge !

Les anciens navigateurs présentent souvent des risques de sécurité. Pour profiter de la meilleure expérience possible sur notre site, passez à la dernière version de l’un des navigateurs suivants.

Skip to Content

What Is Storage-Class Memory?

What Is Storage-Class Memory?

Enterprise storage administrators have long had to balance the need for better data access speed with budgetary constraints. Ultrafast data access exists in forms such as the latest double data rate (DDR) synchronous dynamic random-access memory (SDRAM). But, DDR SDRAM is also ultraexpensive.

Another storage option is quickly gaining popularity as it offers higher performance than NAND Flash at lower costs than DDR SDRAM. It’s called storage-class memory (SCM).

SCM: A Bridge Between DDR and Today’s Enterprise Flash Drives

Consider the spectrum of enterprise storage options and the price vs. performance ratios they provide. Tape is cheap but slow, while DRAM is super-speedy but exceedingly pricey. SCM falls between the traditional NAND storage used in today’s enterprise flash drives and DRAM, as shown in the chart below. Not surprisingly, SCM shares some features with both DRAM and NAND flash storage. It delivers byte-addressable data access like you get with memory, at prices closer to traditional storage solutions.

SCM is also called persistent memory because it is non-volatile.. That means data won’t be lost if the storage system crashes or loses power. This is a big advantage over DRAM, which is volatile, or temporary, and is lost when the power is off.

SCM can be accessed similarly to DRAM, acting as another pool of server memory. Data accessed from this SCM memory pool is significantly faster than data accessed via more traditional interfaces like PCIe or SAS. In fact, SCM can read and write data up to 10 times faster than NAND flash drives, while being approximately half the price of DDR SDRAM.

Test Drive FlashBlade

Experience a self-service instance of Pure1® to manage Pure FlashBlade™, the industry's most advanced solution delivering native scale-out file and object storage.

Try Now

The Advantages of SCM

With SCM technology, enterprises can take advantage of a new tier of high-performance storage that delivers a performance/price ratio previously unavailable. SCM is ideal for ultrafast, mission-critical databases and applications that require high durability, low latency, and a high level of data consistency.

Other advantages include:

  • Lower latency than traditional NAND flash storage
  • Faster processing of workloads that are write-intensive, such as online transaction processing (OLTP) workloads
  • Lower cost than DRAM storage
  • When used in Persistent Memory mode, eliminates potential for data loss due to power failures or system crashes

Put the Technology to Good Use

While SCM is significantly less expensive per GB than system RAM, it still costs more than other solid state storage options. SCM is ideal for computing environments that need access to complex data sets that can fit into a pool of SCM. It’s also a smart choice for environments that are more sensitive to power outages or that would incur more than the usual damage or expense from the loss of in-memory data.

Some use cases include:

  • Analysis of cyber threats: Systems could more quickly parse incoming data sets to identify and mitigate anomalies.
  • Fraud detection: Fast, accurate data analytics could help financial institutions and insurance companies pinpoint fraudulent transactions.
  • Stock market trading: Data stored in SCM could be processed and trades executed in mere fractions of seconds.

How Pure Storage Leverages SCM

Pure Storage® offers SCM storage solutions that can help your organization boost efficiency without breaking your budget. DirectMemory™ Cache software is integrated directly into the core operating system of FlashArray™. It allows FlashArray to leverage SCM to deliver improved read performance for databases, analytics, and reporting. It’s designed specifically for read-intensive, high-performance workloads for data sets within the three to six TB range. DirectMemory Cache requires DirectMemory Modules, which can be installed in both FlashArray//X and FlashArray//XL for enhanced read performance.

 

06/2024
FlashArray NVMe Storage Infrastructure Relocation Service
Unleash the power of your FlashArray storage infrastructure investment. Pure Professional Services exists to enable you to realize the value of your IT investments. As an integral part of the Pure Customer Experience (CX) team, we engage with organizations to evaluate, activate, and innovate their IT solutions.
Data Sheet
2 pages

Resources and Events

JUNE 3-5, 2024
Join Pure Storage at VeeamON 2024

At VeeamON 2024, we’ll show you why Pure Storage is the essential storage platform for Veeam data security and recovery. Visit us at Booth #P5.

Book a Meeting
JUNE 11-14, 2024
Join Pure Storage at Splunk .conf24

At Splunk .conf24, we’ll show you why Pure Storage is the superior storage platform for Splunk data management. Visit us at Booth #402.

Book a Meeting
SUSTAINABILITY
Green Your Data Center with Pure Storage
11 min.

Learn more about how sustainability is built into our philosophy and our products.

Watch the Video
PURE //
Resources
Buyer's Guide
A Buyer's Guide to Modern Virtualization
14 pages

Navigate VMware changes with a modern, scalable virtualization strategy.

Get the Guide
CONTACT US
Meet with an Expert

Let’s talk. Book a 1:1 meeting with one of our experts to discuss your specific needs.

Questions, Comments?

Have a question or comment about Pure products or certifications?  We’re here to help.

Schedule a Demo

Schedule a live demo and see for yourself how Pure can help transform your data into powerful outcomes. 

Call Sales: 800-976-6494

Mediapr@purestorage.com

 

Pure Storage, Inc.

2555 Augustine Dr.

Santa Clara, CA 95054

800-379-7873 (general info)

info@purestorage.com

CLOSE
Your Browser Is No Longer Supported!

Older browsers often represent security risks. In order to deliver the best possible experience when using our site, please update to any of these latest browsers.