Guide du Big Data pour les débutants

Données structurées vs. données non structurées

Ces dix dernières années, notre définition et notre compréhension des données a considérablement évolué — notamment grâce aux outils, toujours plus nombreux, qui permettent de lire, stocker et analyser des données non structurées.

Par le passé, les données non structurées étaient souvent sous-utilisées, en raison des difficultés d’interprétation associées. Ces nouvelles technologie ont permis non seulement de mieux comprendre cette précieuse masse de données, mais aussi d’en extraire des informations stratégiques.

Selon IDC, le volume total de données créées, capturées, copiées et consommer dans le monde d’ici 2024 dépassera 149 zettaoctets par an — la majorité d’entre elles étant non structurées. Toutes les entreprises auront à gagner à développer leurs capacités d’analyse de ces données non structurées. La première étape consiste à bien distinguer les données structurées et non structurées.

Voici un tableau récapitulatif rapide des différences, suivi d’explications plus détaillées.

Caractéristiques

Données structurées

Données non structurées

Nature des données

Généralement quantitatives

Généralement qualitatives

Modèle de données

Prédéfinies ; une fois le modèle défini et quelques données stockées, il est difficile de le modifié

Aucun schéma particulier, le modèle de données est très flexible

Format des données

Nombre de formats disponibles limité

Grande variété de formats disponibles

Base de données

Bases de données relationnelles basées sur SQL

Bases de données NoSQL, sans schéma spécifique

Recherche

Recherche aisée dans la base de données ou l’ensemble de données

Recherche de données particulières très difficile en raison de leur nature non structurée

Analyse

Analyse très simple, étant donnée la nature quantitative des données

Analyse très complexe, même avec les outils logiciels existants

Méthode de stockage

Data warehouses

Data lakes

Que sont les données structurées ?

Les données structurées présentent un schéma bien défini, dans lequel les informations sont mises en forme. Pour schématiser, les données susceptibles d’être présentées dans des tableurs tels que Google Sheets ou Microsoft Excel sont des données structurées.

Selon cet exemple, les données peuvent être synthétisées sous forme de lignes et de colonnes. Chaque colonne représente un attribut, et chaque ligne permet d’associer ou non un élément de données précis avec les différents attributs. Ces lignes et colonnes forment un tableau très facile à utiliser.

Il est possible de relier différents tableaux — à condition qu’ils aient des colonnes communes.

Plusieurs tableaux associés, successivement ou par combinaison, forment une base de données relationnelle. Ainsi, les données client, commerciales et d’inventaire d’une boutique peuvent être considérées comme une base de données relationnelle.

  • Chaque client dispose d’un ID client, ainsi que de champs contenant son nom, son numéro de téléphone, son numéro de carte de crédit, son adresse, etc.
  • La base de données clients peut être reliée à la base de données commerciale à partir d’attributs tels que la date d’achat, la référence des articles achetés, le montant total dépensé, l’ID client, etc. Généralement, les deux tableaux sont reliés par l’attribut commun d’ID client.
  • Enfin, la base de données commerciale peut être reliée à la base de données d’inventaire via l’attribut commun du code d’article, de sorte que les trois tableaux sont intégrés à une seule et même base de données relationnelle.

Ces données structurées sont généralement stockées dans des systèmes de gestion de base de données relationnelle (RDBMS). Ces bases de données peuvent être modifiées, consultées et manipulées à l’aide du langage SQL (Structured Query Language), développé par IBM dans les années 1970 pour prendre en charge ses bases de données centrales. Ce langage s’appelait alors Sequence English Query Language, ou SEQUEL, car il se lisait presque comme la langue anglaise. Dans sa forme actuelle, SQL a été popularisé par Relational Software, Inc. (aujourd’hui appelée Oracle).

Que sont les données non structurées ?

Toutes les données qui ne sont pas structurées peuvent être catégorisées comme non structurées. On estime que d’ici 2025, 80 % des données que nous utilisons - que ce soit sous forme de texte, de son, d’image ou de vidéo - seront non structurées1.

En somme, les données non structurées représentent l’avenir. Elles sont souvent :

  • d’origine numérique et imprévisibles
  • en création et en mouvement constants
  • mélangées, multimodales et interopérables
  • géodistribuées pour une meilleure protection

Les données non structurées sont associées à des métadonnées qui peuvent, quant à elles, être structurées. Ainsi, une vidéo a des métadonnées qui correspondent à la résolution, au débit binaire, au nombre d’images par seconde, au propriétaire, etc. Mais la vidéo en elle-même est non structurée. Des données non structurées associées à des métadonnées structurées sont généralement appelées « données semi-structurées ».

Si l’on prend l’exemple d’une vidéo YouTube, celle-ci présente des métadonnées - notamment l’heure de chargement, la date de chargement, le nombre de vue (partiel ou total), le nombre de « j’aime » et de « je n’aime pas », etc. Cependant, le titre de la vidéo, sa description et la vidéo en elle-même sont non structurés. Ils ont un aspect qualitatif qui ne peut être exprimé seulement par des nombres.

Pour les données non structurées, on utilise généralement des bases de données NoSQL. NoSQL signifie « pas seulement SQL », ce qui indique que la base de données est capable de prendre en charge une plus large gamme de données que les bases de données SQL. Les bases de données NoSQL n’ont pas de structure schématique ou tabulaire ; il s’agit juste d’un ensemble de données regroupées.

 

Stockage de données non structurées avec UFFO

Si les données non structurées sont susceptible de fournir des informations stratégiques dotées d’un vrai potentiel de transformation, elles ne sont pas simples à maîtriser. La solution de stockage avancée UFFO de Pure, Pure Storage® FlashBlade®, garantit la vitesse de la technologie flash, associée à la possibilité de dimensionner n’importe quelle architecture de manière agile. Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus, Pure propose un essai gratuit de Pure FlashBlade. Vous pourrez ainsi tester la solution sans engagement.

1https://www.cio.com/article/3406806/ai-unleashes-the-power-of-unstructured-data.html

800-379-7873 +44 20 3870 2633 +43 720882474 +32 (0) 7 84 80 560 +33 9 75 18 86 78 +49 89 12089 253 +353 1 485 4307 +39 02 9475 9422 +31 (0) 20 201 49 65 +46-101 38 93 22 +45 2856 6610 +47 2195 4481 +351 210 006 108 +966112118066 +27 87551 7857 +34 51 889 8963 +41 31 52 80 624 +90 850 390 21 64 +971 4 5513176 +7 916 716 7308 +65 3158 0960 +603 2298 7123 +66 (0) 2624 0641 +84 43267 3630 +62 21235 84628 +852 3750 7835 +82 2 6001-3330 +886 2 8729 2111 +61 1800 983 289 +64 21 536 736 +55 11 2655-7370 +52 55 9171-1375 +56 2 2368-4581 +57 1 383-2387

See Pure’s vision for the future—on demand. Watch now
The Beginners Guide to Big Data

Structured Data vs. Unstructured Data

Over the last decade, our definition and understanding of what data is has changed dramatically—driven in part by the growing availability of new tools to read, store, and analyze unstructured data.

In the past, unstructured data often went underutilized, given the difficulty associated with interpreting it. These new technologies have made it easier to not only understand unstructured data but also mine valuable insights from this treasure trove of information.

According to IDC, the total volume of data created, captured, copied, and consumed worldwide by 2024 will cross 149 zettabytes every year—and much of it will be unstructured. Every organization will benefit from building unstructured data analysis capabilities. The first step on this path is simply understanding what is structured data vs. unstructured data.

Here’s a quick summary of the difference between the two, with more in-depth explanations to follow:

Characteristic

Structured Data

Unstructured Data

Nature of data

Usually quantitative

Usually qualitative

Data model

Pre-defined; once it is defined and some data stored, it is difficult to change the model

No particular schema is involved in unstructured data; the data model is very flexible

Data format

A limited number of data formats are available

A huge variety of data formats are available for unstructured data

Database

SQL-based relational databases are used

NoSQL databases with no specific schema are used

Search

Very easy to search and find data within the database or data set

Very difficult to search for particular data due to its unstructured nature

Analysis

Very easy to analyze, given the quantitative nature of data

Very difficult to analyze, even with existing software tools

Storage method

Data warehouses are used for structured data

Data lakes are used to store unstructured data

What Is Structured Data?

Structured data has a well-defined schema for the information it holds. To give an extremely simple definition, any data that can be presented in a spreadsheet program like Google Sheets or Microsoft Excel is structured data.

In this example, data can be represented as rows and columns. Each column represents a different attribute, while each row will have the data associated with the attribute for a single instance. Rows and columns form a table that can be referenced easily.

Different tables can be connected—that is, they can be said to be related by the common column present in both tables.

If multiple tables are related in succession and combination, this creates a relational database. For instance, the customer, sales, and inventory data of a department store can be considered structured data stored as a relational database.

  • Each customer will have a customer ID, as well as fields for their name, contact number, credit card information, address, etc.
  • The database of customers can be connected to the database of sales, with attributes including the time of purchase, item codes purchased, total amount spent, customer ID, etc. Both the tables will be connected with the common attribute of customer ID.
  • Finally, the sales database can be connected to the database of inventory using the common attribute of item code, effectively interconnecting all three tables into a relational database.

Structured data like this is generally stored in relational database management systems (RDBMSes). Databases can be written, read, and manipulated using Structured Query Language (SQL), a language that was developed by IBM in the 1970s to support its mainframe databases (though it was initially known as Sequence English Query Language or SEQUEL). It was so named since it reads pretty much like the English language. SQL in its current form was popularized by Relational Software, Inc. (now called Oracle).

What Is Unstructured Data?

Every piece of data that is not structured data can be classified as unstructured data. It’s estimated that by 2025, 80% of the data we encounter will be unstructured data in the form of text, audio, image, or video1.

In short, unstructured data is modern data. It’s often:

  • Born digital and unpredictable
  • Always being created and on the move
  • Blended, multimodal, and interoperable
  • Geo-distributed for better protection

Unstructured data can have some associated metadata that can, in turn, have a structure. For example, a video can have metadata of video resolution, bit rate, frames per second (FPS), owner of the video, etc. But the video itself is unstructured. When there’s some structured metadata associated with unstructured data, it’s occasionally referred to as semi-structured data.

Looking more closely at the example of a YouTube video, some metadata is present, such as the time of upload, date of upload, number of views (partial or full), number of likes and dislikes, etc. But the content inside the video title, the video description, and the video itself is unstructured. It has a qualitative aspect that cannot be captured purely by numbers.

The most commonly used database for unstructured data is NoSQL. NoSQL stands for “not only SQL,” indicating that the database can handle a wider range of data beyond the capabilities of SQL databases. There’s no schema or tabular structure for NoSQL databases; it’s just a collection of data grouped together.

 

Unstructured Data Storage with UFFO

That said, although unstructured data may be able to provide significant insight with huge transformative potential, there are challenges with wrangling it. Pure’s advanced UFFO storage solution, Pure Storage® FlashBlade®, offers the speed associated with flash storage technology, as well as the ability to scale any architecture in an agile fashion. Want to take a closer look? Pure offers a free trial for Pure FlashBlade so that you can test drive the solution with no commitment.

GigaOm Radar for High-Performance Object Storage

Pure Storage Is Positioned as a Leader in the GigaOm Radar for High-Performance Object Storage.

1https://www.cio.com/article/3406806/ai-unleashes-the-power-of-unstructured-data.html

800-379-7873 +44 20 3870 2633 +43 720882474 +32 (0) 7 84 80 560 +33 9 75 18 86 78 +49 89 12089 253 +353 1 485 4307 +39 02 9475 9422 +31 (0) 20 201 49 65 +46-101 38 93 22 +45 2856 6610 +47 2195 4481 +351 210 006 108 +966112118066 +27 87551 7857 +34 51 889 8963 +41 31 52 80 624 +90 850 390 21 64 +971 4 5513176 +7 916 716 7308 +65 3158 0960 +603 2298 7123 +66 (0) 2624 0641 +84 43267 3630 +62 21235 84628 +852 3750 7835 +82 2 6001-3330 +886 2 8729 2111 +61 1800 983 289 +64 21 536 736 +55 11 2655-7370 +52 55 9171-1375 +56 2 2368-4581 +57 1 383-2387